Skip to content
Home » Home Ownership Schemes » Shared Ownership

Shared Ownership


The Shared Ownership scheme is a UK government initiative designed to help people who cannot afford to buy a home outright by allowing them to purchase a share of a property and pay rent on the remaining portion.

This approach reduces the amount of money needed for a deposit and the monthly costs of homeownership.

Shared ownership has been a key part of the government’s strategy to increase housing affordability and provide a pathway to full homeownership.

How the Shared Ownership Scheme works

If you can’t afford the full deposit and mortgage payments for a suitable home, the shared ownership scheme can help.

With shared ownership, you purchase a portion of the property and pay rent to a landlord for the remaining share.

There are specific rules for shared ownership in:

  • Northern Ireland
  • Scotland
  • Wales

When You Buy a Home Through Shared Ownership, You:

  • Purchase a share between 10% and 75% of the home’s full market value.
  • Pay rent to the landlord for the share they own.
  • Typically pay monthly ground rent and service charges, such as for maintaining communal areas.

A different option exists to buy a share of a home you already rent, called the Right to Shared Ownership.

Buying Your Share

  • You can usually purchase a share between 25% and 75%, though some homes allow for a 10% share.
  • You can finance your share with a mortgage or savings, and a deposit is required, typically 5% to 10% of the share you’re buying.
  • You have the option to buy additional shares in the future, a process known as ‘staircasing’. Purchasing more shares reduces the rent you pay, which is calculated based on the landlord’s remaining share.

Homes Available Through Shared Ownership

You can buy:

  • A new-build home.
  • An existing home through a shared ownership resale scheme.
  • A home that meets specific needs if you have a long-term disability, such as a ground-floor flat.

Shared ownership homes are provided by housing associations, local councils, and other organizations, known as ‘providers’ or the landlord.

All shared ownership properties, whether houses or flats, are leasehold.

Other Assistance to Buy a Home

You may qualify for other affordable home ownership schemes.

Speak to an expert